Congrats, Clay HS Students!

  • Print

Congratulations to the following students for their recognition:

Lacyra Craig.  Lacyra, a junior at the Scioto County Career Technical Center, has been selected as a member of the National Society of High School Scholars (NSHSS).  The society recognizes top scholars who have demonstrated outstanding leadership, scholarship, and community commitment. "On behalf of NSHSS, I am honored to recognize the hard work, sacrifice, and commitment that Lacyra has demonstrated to achieve this exceptional level of academic excellence," said Claes Nobel, Chairman of the NSHSS. "Laycra is now a member of a unique community of scholars--a community that represents our very best hope for the future."  

Keith Cottle.  Keith, a senior, was selected as Clay High School's DAR (Daughters of the American Revolution) Award recipient.  He was nominated by the CHS staff and then selected by the senior class.  The award recognizes individuals who fulfill the qualities of honor, service, courage, leadership, and patriotism. Keith is the son of Marc and Jennifer Cottle of Portsmouth.

Caden Cline.  Caden, a sophomore, was selected as Clay High School's HOBY representative after being nominated by the school's staff and selected by the sophomore class as the 2017-2018 Hugh O'Brian Youth Leadership Award winner.  Caden will represent Clay High School at the H.O.B.Y. Leadership Conference.  Sophomores from across the state attended the HOBY Leadership seminar at Denison University in Columbus.  HOBY is designed to honor some of America's most outstanding students and further develop their leadership skills. HOBY leadership seminars bring together a select group of high school sophomores to interact with distinguished leaders in business, government, education, and other professions to discuss present and future issues. The goal is to provide them with a stimulating forum for learning about the American incentive system and the democratic process while broadening their understanding of their leadership potential and the quest for self-development. Caden is the son of Matt and Rhonda Cline of West Portsmouth.

Ian Grimm, Madison Nigh, & Garrett Stone. Ian, Madison, and Garrett were selected for the Asbury University Honors Band.  On average ninety-five students are selected from eight states. They performed in concert on November 18, 2017. Miss Alice Maggard is the CHS Band Director. 



Joomla25 Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux