2006-2007 DAR Castle

Active Image

Haley Nicole Castle has been chosen to represent The Joseph Spencer Chapter NSDAR as its DAR Good Citizen for 2006-2007.  Hayley is a senior at Clay High School and she is the daughter of Kevin and Lori Castle of Shadybrook Lane.

The goal of the DAR Good Citizens Program and Scholarship Contest is to encourage and to reward the qualities of good citizenship.  The program is open to all senior class students enrolled in accredited public or private schools.

Each of the area high schools selects a student to be its Good Citizen.  Hayley was selected from this group of students to be the Joseph Spencer Chapter Good Citizen. the criteria for selection are dependability, service, leadership and patriotism.  As the chapter winner she will compete at the district level.

The objects of the DAR are to perpetuate the memory and spirit of the men and women who achieved American independence; to promote "institutions for the general diffusion of knowledge"; and to cherish, maintain, and extend the institutions of American freedom, to foster true patriotism and love of country, and to aid in securing for mankind all the blessings of liberty.

The DAR is a service organization.  The Joseph Spencer Chapter helps to support six DAR schools, organizes projects for the Veteran's Hospital in Chillicothe, and has established a scholarship fund.

Membership is open to any woman 18 yrs or older (regardless of race, religion or ethnic background) who can prove lineal descent from a patriot of the American Revolution.  If anyone is interested in joining the DAR, call Patricia Russell at (740) 354-7836.  

Source:  Community Common

2006 National Honor Society

Active Image

Clay Junior-Senior High School held its National Honor Society Induction on Friday, December 15, 2006, in the high school gymnasium. Four new students were inducted into Clay’s National Honor Society.

The new members include Megan Burchett, daughter of Bill and Gina Burchett of Rosemount; Justin Craft, son of Kevin and Cindy Craft of Rubyville; Casey Stapleton, daughter of Michelle Riggs and Carlos Stapleton of Portsmouth; and Brittany Weeks, daughter of Teddie and Denise Weeks of Lucasville and Sharon and Scott Thayer of Minford. Current NHS members include Aaron Bihl, Hayley Castle, Allison Dunn, and Tara Schuler. The speaker for the afternoon’s ceremony was Mrs. Ashley (Huff) Ferguson, a 2003 graduate of Clay High School. Mrs. Ferguson is currently completing her undergraduate work at Shawnee State University to become a registered nurse. Mrs. Ferguson is the daughter of Bob and Sandy Huff of Rosemount.

Members of the chapter are selected based on the criteria of character, leadership, scholarship, and service; and members must have a grade point average of 3.5 or higher to be considered. Members are involved in many activities and service projects throughout the year. The advisor for the Clay National Honor Society is Mrs. Janet Deal. The Clay National Honor Society Chapter is sponsored by the New Boston Kiwanis.

2006 Graduates Receive Scholarships

Congratulations to the recipients of the alumni scholarships!

The Clay High School Alumni Association awarded scholarships to five members of the 2006 graduating class.  The members who recieved the scholarships were Bethany Prise, James R. Goad, Class of 1966, Memorial Scholarship; Lauren Burns and Katie Dudiut, Clay Alumni Scolarships; Courtney Spriggs, Alfred and Terry McCain Scholarship;  and Derik Oliver, Jane Ann Thomas Hiatt Memorial Scholarship.  Shirley Conklin, Clay Alumni executive secretary, presented the scholarships to the recipients.  She was assisted by the Vice Presendent Larue Horsley and the treasurer,  Dave Richard.  The alumni association is  proud of those students who were awarded alumni scholarships.

For more information about the alumni scholarships or about the alumni association, contact Shirley Conklin at 740-354-6595.

2006-2007 DAR Awards

Congratulations, Hayley!
D.A.R. Good Citizen Award

Clay High School is proud to announce that Hayley Castle, daughter of Kevin and Lori Castle of Rosemount, is this year’s recipient of the Daughter’s of the American Revolution Good Citizen Award.  There were two other students nominated by the high school teachers for this award.  They were Aaron Bihl and Allison Dunn.  The criteria for selection included dependability, service, leadership, and patriotism.  The senior class, voting by secret ballot, then selected Hayley to receive the award. 

2006 Commencement

The Clay Local School District's Sixty-sixth Commencement Exercises were held on Sunday, May 28, 2006, at 3PM in the Clay High School gymnasium.

Clay High School - Class of 2006

Lauren Burns - Valedictorian
Michael Thacker - Salutatorian
Kalah Haney - Outstanding Vocational Students

Zachary Adkins, *Kimberly Albrecht, Joshua Bowen, *+Lauren Burns, Daniel Clifford, Jennifer Craft, Jessica Craft, *Cameron Donini, Katie Duduit, Drew Fitch, Kyle Fitzer, +Danny Frantz, Heather Haffner, Chris Hamilton, Kalah Haney, Lesley Hiles, David Lunsford, Justin Mayfield, Laci McKinney, Ryan Mosley, Drew Oliver, *Stephen Pelfrey, James Pinson, Josh Porter, +Bethany Prise, *+Ashley Speas, Courtney Spriggs, *+Michael Thacker, Cam Thoroughman, Joey Waldron, Rebekah Watson, Matt Whisman, & Robin Wolfe

* National Honor Society Members
+ Honors Diploma

Scholarships (as of 05/30/06)

Lauren Burns
- Ohio Academic Excellence ($8,820), SSU Academic Excellence ($22,032), Coca-Cola Enterprises ($5,000), JLS Century ($8,000), Avon Foundation ($2,000), & Clay Alumni ($1,000)

Katie Duduit - Presidential Freedom/Marshall Memorial ($1,000), Medical Mutual Insurance ($500), Clay Alumni ($1,000), Clay Employees ($500), & Red Cross ($500)

Danny Frantz - Glockner Community Service ($500) & SSU Freshman ($1,000)

Heather Haffner - Presidential Freedom/USEC ($1,000) & SSU Tuition Waiver ($22,032)

Lesley Hiles - Portsmouth Area Jaycees ($500)

Laci McKinney - SSU Freshman ($500)

Ryan Mosley - SSU Freshman ($500), Spriggs Family ($1,000), Portsmouth Kiwanis ($4,000), & Red Cross ($500)

Drew Oliver - SSU Freshman ($500), Spriggs Family/Scioto County Firefighters ($1,000), Clay Alumni ($1,000), & Red Cross ($500)

Bethany Prise - Mt. Vernon Nazarene Academic Excellence ($12,000), Challenge Grant ($1,550), Opporunity Grant ($3,300), Ohio Choice Grant ($900), & Clay Alumni ($1,000)

Ashley Speas - SSU Freshmen ($500)

Courtney Spriggs - Clay Alumni ($1,000) 

Michael Thacker - SSU Academic Excellence ($22,032)

Cam Thoroughman - WVU Athletic ($140,000)

Rebekah Watson - SSU Freshman ($500) 

Robin Wolfe - SSU Freshman ($500) & McElhaney Honors ($1,500)

Clay graduates have received approximately $262,500 in scholarship money this year.  Over the last five years, Clay graduates have received approximately $1.4 million in scholarship money.


Class Song"  "Wish You Were Here" by Pink Floyd

Class Motto:  "Always be a first-rate version of yourself, instead of a second-rate version of someone else."  Judy Garland

Class Flower:  Forget-me-not

Class Colors:  Aqua & Black

This year's commencement speaker was Dr. Craig Miller, a 1996 graduate of Clay High School.

Additional information

Joomla25 Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux